The Closing of a Successful Season

Posted: April 9, 2018

Last week officially wrapped up the 2017-18 season with the Athletic Awards Nights on Tuesday. The night saw multiple teams, coaches and athletes receive recognition and awards for their performances not only in sports but students as well in the department and leagues. 

Varsity’s Athletes of the Year went to two 5th year student-athletes, Sam Zacharias and Taylor Klassen. Zacharias, hitter for the women’s volleyball program, finished one of her strongest seasons to-date as a silver medalist at playoffs, broke the ACAC All-Time Kills Record, is also the ACAC Aces leader and she received the ACAC Player of the Year, CCAA All-Canadian and CCAA Player of the Year awards. While Klassen, the outside hitter for men’s volleyball finished 3rd in the league with kills per set (3.34), 3rd in points per set (4.1), 4th in services aces per set (0.48), 5th in points (322.0) and was named to the ACAC All-Conference south team.

Nominees for this award were: Brandon Tolentino (men’s basketball), Kai Wyatt (women’s basketball) and Josh Anderson (hockey).

Briercrest Volleyball coaches were also recognized and honoured with the ACAC Coach of the Year awards, for the men was Nigel Mullan and for the women Nolan Weinmaster. 

In addition to varsity’s successful year, this season was a major achievement for Briercest’s JV programs. Of the eight programs, 4 finished in the top 3: women’s JV volleyball, men’s soccer and women’s soccer all won their PAC conference titles and men’s JV basketball won bronze. Also highlighting their successful year, women’s softball made playoffs.

The JV Athletes of the Year were awarded to Sydney Klassen (women’s volleyball) and Joe Wilson (running). Klassen also received the PAC MVP and All-Star awards for her contributions to the team’s first place finish and Wilson helped lead his team to place in the top three consistently throughout the year.

This season also saw the success of the JV coaches; women’s volleyball coach Richelle Vigeant and men’s basketball coach Andrew Quiring both received PAC’s Coach of the Year awards.

Graduating this year from Briercrest were: Sarah Richards (BA Business, softball), Mallory Starky (BA Psychology, softball), Bryann Seib (BA Humanities: History, softball), Kaylee Anholt (BA Psychology, softball), Janae Rapley (BA Psychology, women’s volleyball), Sam Zacharias (BA Business, women’s volleyball), Taylor Klassen (BA Psychology, men’s volleyball), Micah Abbott (BA Business, hockey), Mark Mckinnon (BA Business, hockey), Dan Stollery (BA Business, hockey) and Josh Anderson (BA Humanities, hockey).

Of those graduating, four were recognized for their five years of dedication at Briercrest and in athletics: Sam Zacharias, Micah Abbott, Mark Mckinnon and Josh Anderson.

Other Department awards presented during the night:

Community Involvement Award: Ben Feere (hockey) for his service in the community with Caronport Minor Hockey.

Other nominees for this award: Becky Garner (women’s volleyball), Thomas Neustaedter (men’s basketball), Victoria Voth (women’s basketball), Colin Bovingdon (men’s volleyball), Sasha Kozun (women’s volleyball), Brooke German (women’s basketball), Adam McNeil (men’s soccer) and Tori Baynton (women’s soccer).

Male Rookie of the Year: Jordan Schnitzer (men’s volleyball)

Other nominees: Cal Rediron (men’s basketball) and Joshua Mitton (hockey).

Female Rookie of the Year: Moriah Williams (women’s basketball)

Other nominees: Mia Harder (women’s volleyball)

Other team and league recognitions:

Minor Official Award: Dannika Meier

Varsity Teams

Hockey: Dan Dekoning (ACAC All- Conference and Academic All- Canadian)

Men’s Volleyball: Taylor Klassen (ACAC All- Conference), Dalon Hordyk (ACAC All- Conference), Jordan Schnitzer (ACAC Rookie of the Year)

Women’s Volleyball: Sam Zacharias (ACAC All- Conference, ACAC Player of the Year, CCAA Player of the Year and CCAA All- Canadian), Karina Peterson (ACAC All- Conference) and Ashley Zacharias (ACAC All- Conference).

JV Teams

Softball: Sarah Richards (WCSA All- Academic), Jenna Cox (WCSA All- Conference), Sable Sampson (WCSA All- Conference) and Carrie Jesperson (WCSA Rookie of the Year).

Women’s JV Volleyball: Karly Cheredale (PAC Defensive Player of the Year and All- Star)

Men’s Soccer: Niko Hendriks (PAC MVP)