Briercrest’s Jessica Bailey named First-Team All-Star, Richards and Benner Academic Awards

Posted: October 5, 2015

Though day three of the Western Collegiate Softball Association (WCSA) championships hosted by Briercrest College in Moose Jaw were cancelled due to rain, there was still excitement surrounding the league championships, as the League Awards were handed out. Highlights for the Briercrest College softball team were Jessica Bailey being selected as WCSA First-Team All-Star at Third-base and Sarah Richards and Mikayla Benner being named 2014-15 Academic Athletic Award recipients.

Bailey, who has played catcher the majority of her softball career, and every inning but four in the 2014 WCSA season, shifted to playing the majority of the 2015 season at third-base, while also continuing as backup catcher this season. She had a strong season in the field as well as at the plate this year. She batted in the top half of the batting order for the majority of the season while also bringing stability to the hot corner at third. She was also nominated for the Gold Glove Award.

Richards and Benner received the 2014 Academic Athletic Award for having a GPA of over 3.7 during the 2014-15 academic calendar year.

2015 WCSA Award recipients were:

Most Valuable Player – Mikaila Etheredge (Regina)

Pitcher of the Year – Carmen Hughes (Regina)/Caytlin Edge (Calgary)/Haley Volk (Saskatchewan)

Rookie of the Year – Sarah Sparks (Saskatchewan)

Coaching Staff of the Year – University of Regina/University of Saskatchewan


All-star Teams:


First Base – Sarah Sparks (Saskatchewan)

Second Base – Andrea Durocher (Alberta)/Lindsey McNab (Regina)

Third Base – Kendalynn Culbert (Regina)/Alyssa Lavalee (SAIT)/Jessica Bailey (Briercrest)

Short Stop – Shelby Brandt (Regina)

Catcher – Mikaila Etheredge (Regina)

Pitcher – Haley Volk (Saskatchewan)

Left Field – Destiny Kaus (Regina)

Centre Field – Haley Gibson (Regina)

Right Field – Danae LeDrew (Regina)

Utility – Carmen Hughes (Regina)



First Base – Keelie Graf (Regina)

Second Base – Two First-Team All-Stars

Third Base – Three First-Team All-Stars

Short Stop – Dana Lahti (Saskatchewan)

Catcher – Kayla Decorby (Saskatchewan)

Pitcher – Caytlin Edge (Calgary)

Left Field – Maya Sohn (Calgary)

Centre Field – Nakia Thorpe (Saskatchewan)

Right Field – Carly Zultok (Saskatchewan)

Utility – Emi Horne (SAIT)


Nominees for 2015 Gold Glove Award were:

Jessica Bailey (Briercrest), Maya Sohn(Calgary), Mikaila Etheredge (Regina), Hailey Young (SAIT), Dana Lahti (Saskatchewan)


2014 WCSA Academic Athletic Awards –

University of Calgary -  Alex McAdam, Kristin Walz, Beth Verhelst, Emma Jerome-Smith, Jessica Ruzicki

SAIT - Lindsay Atkinson, Cassandra Busch,

University of Regina - Stephanie Horsley, Mikaila Etheredge

Mount Royal - Emily Lyster, Noelle Sampson

Briercrest - Sarah Richards, Mikayla Benner


For more information on the WCSA click here.

To follow the Briercrest Softball this year follow the Briercrest Softball facebook page.