Armstrong named ACAC Hockey Rookie of the Year

Posted: March 26, 2015

Aaron Armstrong of the Briercrest College and Seminary men’s hockey team was selected as 2014-15 Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference Rookie of the Year.

The Briercrest student was announced for the award at the annual Briercrest Athletics Awards Banquet Thursday, March 26, 2015.

The first-year centre put up some amazing numbers this season, taking the ACAC by storm. He was named an ACAC First-Team All-Coneference last week. The Teeswater, Ontario native ranked fifth in the ACAC with 39 points (behind four NAIT players). He also ranked sixth in the league in both goals and assists with 16 goals and 23 assists. 

The BA Business Administration student was ranked second among rookies in points and led the way with 16 goals. He also had one shorthanded goal and two games winners. He led the league with 10 powerplay assists and tied for seventh with 5 powerplay goals.

Armstrong is the first Briercrest hockey award winner since Tyler Murray led the ACAC in points during the 2011-12 season, and was also named ACAC Rookie of the Year and ACAC First Team All-Conference.

For up to date information on the Briercrest hockey team, click here.