Biblical Studies

Associate of Arts

This program is for those who want to develop skills and methods for engaging in sound and thoughtful interpretation of the Bible for use in ministry or mission settings or as a firm foundation as they pursue a variety of careers in the marketplace.

The AA in Biblical Studies provides students with the opportunity to gain broad exposure to the college curriculum while emphasizing study in Biblical Studies and Theology. The education that can be gained makes the program an excellent basis for students who will continue personal study, develop further skills to be used in lay ministry, and for further study at the undergraduate level.

Graduation Requirements

  • the completion of 63 credit hours of study
  • the completion of the AA core requirements
  • 24 credit hours of Biblical Studies, including at least 6 credit hours in each of the Old and New Testaments
  • two semesters of Service Learning

Program Requirements

(63 credit hours)

AA Core Curriculum

(30 credit hours)

Biblical Studies

(24 credit hours)

Course Credit Hours
Old Testament Courses 6
New Testament Courses 6
Biblical Studies electives 12

Free Electives

(18 credit hours)

SL 1-2 Service Learning non-credit

view all course descriptions


Kevin Daugherty, PhD
Associate Professor of Theology
kdaugherty@briercrest.ca
View Profile


Kenneth Guenter, MA
Associate Professor of Old Testament and Ancient Near Eastern History
kguenter@briercrest.ca
View Profile


Carl Hinderager, PhD
Professor of New Testament
chinderager@briercrest.ca
View Profile


David Miller, PhD
Associate Professor of New Testament and Early Judaism
dmiller@briercrest.ca
View Profile


Wes Olmstead, PhD
Associate Professor of New Testament
wolmstead@briercrest.ca
View Profile


Eric Ortlund, PhD
Associate Professor of Old Testament
eortlund@briercrest.ca
View Profile


Don Taylor, DTh
Associate Professor of Old Testament
dtaylor@briercrest.ca
View Profile


Susan Wendel, PhD
Assistant Professor of New Testament
swendel@briercrest.ca
View Profile