Certificate in Biblical Studies

The Certificate in Biblical Studies is designed for students who wish to delve into the content and message of the Bible. Students will be introduced to the field of biblical studies that includes the ancillary disciplines of history, culture, archaeology, hermeneutics, and literary studies. Students will also be exposed to Arts and Science classes that will broaden their knowledge of humanity and the world around them. The program offers enough flexibility for students to follow and discover their passions and interests. This one year of study is intended to help students grow in their biblical knowledge while gaining a better understanding of themselves so as to lead them into further studies or new directions.

Program Requirements (30 credit hours)


Required Courses (15 credit hours):

BLST 111 Introduction to the Old Testament
BLST 109 Introduction to the New Testament
THEO 115 Introduction to Christian Theology
6 credit hours of Biblical Studies (BLST) courses

Humanities & Social Sciences Requirements (6 credit hours):

Two courses selected from:

ENG 100 Literature and Composition I
ENG 101 Literature and Composition II
ECON 100 Microeconomics
ECON 101 Macroeconomics
HIS 237 History of Christianity I
HIS 238 History of Christianity II
PHI 100 Introduction to Philosophy I
PHI 101 Introduction to Philosophy II
PSY 100 Introduction to Psychology I
PSY 101 Introduction to Psychology II
SOC 100 Introduction to Sociology I
SOC 101 Introduction to Sociology II

Free Electives (6 credit hours)


Kevin Daugherty, PhD
Associate Professor of Theology
kdaugherty@briercrest.ca
View Profile


Kenneth Guenter, MA
Associate Professor of Old Testament and Ancient Near Eastern History
kguenter@briercrest.ca
View Profile


Carl Hinderager, PhD
Professor of New Testament
chinderager@briercrest.ca
View Profile


David Miller, PhD
Associate Professor of New Testament and Early Judaism
dmiller@briercrest.ca
View Profile


Wes Olmstead, PhD
Associate Professor of New Testament
wolmstead@briercrest.ca
View Profile


Eric Ortlund, PhD
Associate Professor of Old Testament
eortlund@briercrest.ca
View Profile


Don Taylor, DTh
Associate Professor of Old Testament
dtaylor@briercrest.ca
View Profile


Susan Wendel, PhD
Assistant Professor of New Testament
swendel@briercrest.ca
View Profile